Children Shouldn’t Play with Dead Things by Martina McAtee Review

My rating: šŸŒŸšŸŒŸšŸŒŸšŸŒŸšŸŒŸ

IMG_20160525_133432~2

You want feels? This book has ALL. THE. FEELS! I’m literally at a loss for words to describe just how amazing CSPWDT is! I didn’t just love it, I LOVED it! I need the next book like yesterday! Before I even finished it I was on Amazon looking to see if I could preorder the next installment in the Reanimator Series. Martina McAtee blew me away! This is a book that should be at the top of the NYT bestsellers list! This isn’t an “acquired taste”- it’s universally amazing! I would most definitely recommend CSPWDT to EVERYONE! I can’t find a single thing that I don’t absolutely LOVE about this book! It would be a travesty to just call it “good!”

The characters in CSPWDT are the cornerstone of this book. They jump right out of the book and become real as you’re reading. They’re very dynamic characters. I feel like “three-dimensional” is a bit over-used but there is no better way to describe these characters! Ember and company will forever be in my heart now! I could go on forever raving about these amazing characters but I’m just going to be brief. I loved them all. Each person was so well-created. There were plenty of times that Tristin crawled right under my skin but I can’t help but love her as well. Her heart is in the right place where and when it counts. Isa is a favorite for sure as well as Kia and Mace. And Ember- oh Ember! I love her so so much! I felt I could relate to her in so many ways. Her relationship with her father especially touched me- they had a Rocky relationship while he was alive but She later learns that there was much more to him and his love for her. All of the characters in this book became real to me as I was reading and are still with me after I’ve finished. <br><br>The world-building in CSPWDT was amazing as well. Very original, detailed, believable, and thorough. The author did such an amazing job with everything- the legends behind the story show just how much work and research she put into this book. <br><brThe plot was original- I have read no other books like this one and the types of creatures in the book were very original as well. It was very refreshing to read a book with new types of beings in it instead of the same old, overused ones. Even the familiar creatures in this book had a fresh, new spin on their mythology and background/workings. Martina McAtee has such a polished writing style that is truly a joy to read and experience. It reminds me of Charlaine Harris(Sookie Stackhouse/True Blood books among many others) and she has the same knack for creating amazingly real and lovable characters that play off of each other very well that Richelle Mead has. Needless to say she is now with them as one of my favorite authors!

With such lovable characters and an amazingly engaging plotline, this book is nothing short of favorite material! It’s one I will want to read again and again- and those are the very best ones! There is absolutely no question that I would recommend this book to everyone. What are you waiting for?!

*I received a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review*

<a href=”https://www.goodreads.com/review/list/45131882-julie-daniels”>View all my reviews

Book 2 in the Reanimator series- Dark Dreams and Dead Things will be released on the 15th. I’m reading an ARC of it right now and will have my review up closer to release day.

Leave a Reply

